LITERATURE CITED

BABCOCK, O. G. and H. E. EWING. 1938. A new genus and species of Anoplura from the peccary. Proc. Ent. Soc. Wash. 40: 197-201.
MENZIES, G. C., R. B. EADS, and B. G. HIGHTOWER. 1951. List of Anoplura from Texas. Proc. Ent. Soc. Wash. 53: 150-152.

Gervaisicus nom. nov. (Diplopoda)

Gervaisicus nom. nov. is here proposed to replace Gervaisia Waga 1858 (Diplopoda) which is preoccupied by Gervaisia Bonaparte 1854 (Aves).

R. V. CHAMBERLIN

Notes and News in Entomology

Under this heading we present from time to time, notes, news, and comments. Contributions from readers are earnestly solicited and will be acknowledged when used.

Snodgrass Receives Leidy Award. Dr. Robert Evans Snodgrass, was awarded the Leidy Medal, given by the Academy of Natural Sciences, of Philadelphia, at a ceremony in the Academy on October 17th. The Medal is awarded every three years for the "best publication, exploration and discovery or research in the natural sciences." The committee that selected Dr. Snodgrass consisted of Herbert Friedmann, Los Angeles Co. Museum, Adriance S. Foster, Univ. of California, Berkeley, H. Bentley Glass, Johns Hopkins Univ., George W. Wharton, Univ. of Maryland, and H. Radcliffe Roberts, Academy of Natural Sciences. Among the thirteen recipients to date there have been two other entomologists, the late William Morton Wheeler, and Herbert B. Hungerford.

The American Entomological Society, of which he is a Corresponding Member, congratulates Dr. Snodgrass on this recognition. We may truly say that the entire present generation of entomologists is deeply indebted to him. His famous book, "Principles of Insect Morphology" (1935), has served as the